Academic overview

Graduation, June 2011
After having graduated with a 1st class BSc (Hons) in Applied Chemistry from the University of Plymouth in June of 2011, I was given the opportunity to stay and pursue a PhD within the Environmental and Fluid Modelling Group at Plymouth University starting in October of 2011. The PhD project was an extension of my 3rd year undergraduate dissertation project with my supervisor, Professor G.P. Matthews, and involved investigating the controlled release of drugs and flavours from nanoporous substrates, in collaboration with Omya AG.

Memberships: Member of the Royal Society of Chemistry (MRSC), Associate Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (HEA), Member of the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET)...

Research keywords: Diffusion, computational fluid dynamics (CFD), physical chemistry, chemical engineering science, porous structures, porosity, modelling, PoreXpert, surface and colloid chemistry, nanoemulsions, drug delivery, Zero Length Cell, HPLC, sorption, diffusion, analytical chemistry...

Techniques: Mercury intrusion porosimetry, helium pycnometry, envelope pycnometry, high performance liquid chromatography (HPLC), zero length cell (ZLC), UV-Vis, elemental analysis, FT-IR, ICP-MS, surface area analysis via N2 sorption, Python, HTML, CSS, reliability engineering, safety engineering, PSA/QRA/PRA...

I have also studied various language modules with The Open University partly through a discretionary award.
Back to top

Skills overview

Please see my LinkedIn page for some more information.

Back to top

About me (last updated: 2012)

My brother and I, 2010
Well, this section is a little bit (but not too much!) about my personal life! I'm incredibly close to my family and am extremely passionate about and committed to what I decide to undertake in my life. I live an active life and love adventure and exploration in (almost) all forms!

In my free time, I attend as many Crossfit sessions as possible. I also play in the Plymouth and District Badminton League, and helped to win the Beckly Cup, a 35 year old tradition, in the 2008/09 medley competition for Mayflower Wednesday.

I used to do a lot of Taekwondo and Kickboxing before I started Crossfit. I am a 1st degree blackbelt in Taekwondo with a distinction pass and obtained the Spirit Award and an offer to train with the PUMA (Professional Unification of Martial Arts) UK Squad Team. I have also obtained two grading awards and was a member of the Totnes Leadership Team, and also have experience in voluntarily teaching martial arts (Tae Kwon Do and Judo) to groups of varying sizes and ages. Some additional teaching was when I joined the Plymouth Student Associates Scheme, which involved working alongside experienced teachers to teach chemistry to GCSE students for 3 weeks in a UK seconday school.

I've been lucky enough to have travelled to some incredibly beautiful places, and have had some enriching and life-changing experiences. Continuing with the martial arts theme, as an 18th birthday gift from my parents I journeyed to Southeast China alone for a two-month Kung Fu training adventure in June 2008, and it was the start of some amazing ventures!
Competing in the Primal Games, Plymouth, Nov. 2012
Two other trips I'll mention here is a venture to Morocco in June 2010 for a 3 week backpacking expedition with my brother, where our team conquered Mount Toubkal in the Atlas Mountains, the highest peak in North Africa. And in the summer of 2011, I spent 2 months in Mallorca working as an au pair looking after a 9 year old boy and a 7 year old girl. It was hard work but so incredibly rewarding! I experienced so much of the Mallorquín culture and language!

To compliment my Crossfit endeavors, I am an advocate of a healthy diet, and am an avid reader. I read many books relating to self improvement, spirituality, the mind, strength training and conditioning, various accounts of adventure, and all sorts!

I have intermediate and conversational Castellano (Spanish) skills, and also very basic skills in Japanese (which I intend to take up to conversational level). I would also love to learn French and Portuguese some day! As well as Italian, Arabic, Chinese, Yoruba, and many others!

Very occasionally I like to ski and/or snowboard and learn some HTML and CSS. But more frequently I cook and bake, take amateur photos of my gourmet (ahem) creations, and love to travel!

I would love to learn the piano and guitar, but there aren't enough hours in the day to do so many things, although this is on top of my list for the next stage of my life. I would also love to own a Dyson hoover.

I hold a full, clean driving license.

Back to top

Contact information

Address: Room 601, Davy Building, Drake Circus, Plymouth, Devon, PL4 8AA


Back to top